Lenten Reflections

Lent 2023-5view

New Video Reflection Series

Within the Catholic-Christian tradition, the act of praying the Stations of the Cross during the Lenten season is a profoundly meaningful way to both journey alongside Jesus as he makes his way to the cross and to cultivate a deeper connection with his sacrificial love. The Stations of the Cross offers a poignant reminder that anyone who experiences suffering is intimately connected to the suffering of Christ. The Lenten season and this video reflection series offer a rich opportunity for ministry colleagues of all faith traditions and spiritual practices to engage in meaningful contemplation as we journey with those experiencing suffering.

CHA is pleased to offer a special series of video reflections inspired by the images crafted by artist William Frank, at the request of SSM Saint Louis University Hospital, entitled Via Dolorosa, meaning "sorrowful way" or "way of suffering." Each image combines a scene of Christ from the Stations of the Cross with an image sourced from the hospital's archives which captures an experience of human suffering. Through this lens, the local community and its struggles become the backdrop against which the suffering and sacrifice of Christ unfolds.


For use in your next team huddle, department meeting, or personal reflection, this series of video reflections, 4-5 minutes in length, offers a relatable and meaningful way in which to journey through Lent individually and together as colleagues. As you engage in these reflections consider your journey with patients and families experiencing suffering in the coming days and weeks. 

How to

As you meditate on each image and scripture pairing, pause and appreciate how you’re entering this moment of prayer. How do you feel? Then, consider what it means from your own lived experience that 'anyone suffering is united with Christ.' How does the suffering and accompaniment of the Divine shift your own experiences of suffering?

Conversation with the Artist

Artist William Frank discusses his "Via Dolorosa" series that serves as the foundation for CHA's "Journey with Jesus to the Cross" reflection series.

NEW - Featuring All 15 Stations Together

The First Station

Jesus is condemned to death

The Second Station

Jesus carries his cross

The Third Station

Jesus falls for the first time

The Fourth Station

Jesus meets his sorrowing mother

The Fifth Station

Simon of Cyrene carries the cross of Jesus

The Sixth Station

Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

The Seventh Station

Jesus falls a second time

The Eighth Station

Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

The Ninth Station

Jesus falls a third time

The Tenth Station

Jesus is stripped of his clothes

The Eleventh Station

Jesus is nailed to the cross

The Twelfth Station

Jesus dies on the cross

The Thirteenth Station

The body of Jesus is taken down from the cross

The Fourteenth Station

Jesus is laid in the tomb

The Fifteenth Station

The women find the tomb empty